Joel Larway's Team Washington wins US Club National Championship

Joel Larway's Team Washington wins US Club National Championship

February 22, 2014 - 7:59pm -- Tom FitzGerald

Washington men, Minnesota women, win 2014 Club Nationals

Joel Larway (Lynnwood, Wash.) led his Washington foursome, with Benj Guzman (Everett, Wash.), Peter Sommer (Carnation, Wash.) and Chad Siefert (Seattle) to the championship by dominating Massachusetts' Peter Bialek rink, 8-2. Bialek (Billerica, Mass.) Adam Jacobson (Westborough, Mass.), Dan Naylor (also of Billerica) and Daniel Cho (Providence, R.I.). A Washington men's team also won the title last year.

Norma O'Leary and her Duluth Curling Club teammates capped a perfect week to become 2014 Club National Champions. O'Leary (Silver Bay, Minn.) and teammates Jill Hansen, Patti Luke and Mary Shields (all of Duluth), controlled their final game against North Dakota II (Fargo's Ann Podoll, Carmen Delaney, Madonna Fitzgerald and Patty Olesen), 8-4. Team O'Leary finished 11-0 in a terrific example of consistent curling. This is the third time O'Leary has led a team to the Club Nationals title.

In the women's bronze medal game, North Dakota I stole two points in the 10th end to edge Lori Karst's Wisconsin rink. Team North Dakota I includes Beth Bohlman and Amy Bushaw of Grand Forks, Tanis Hastmann of East Grand Forks, and Gail Ingwalson and Jean Vorachek, also of Grand Forks. Karst (Madison, Wis.) curled with Mary Parker (also of Madison), Rebecca Reinhart (Monona, Wis.) and Cynthia Rhyer (McFarland, Wis.). Five points by Karst in the first end was not enough to stop Bohlman's comeback for bronze.

Jeff Wright's Team Illinois won men's bronze with a steal of its own in the last end to beat Peter Stolt's Minnesota team, 9-8. Wright (Libertyville, Ill.) teamed up with Russ Armstrong (Lake Bluff, Ill.), Russ Brown (Lake Forest, Ill.), Steven Waters (Evanston, Ill.) and Steve Wright (Chicago). Team Minnesota includes Stolt (Plymouth, Minn.), Brad Caldwell (Andover, Minn.), Cameron McLelland (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Evan Jensen (also of Minneapolis).

Finals results:
Minnesota I (O'Leary)* 102 002 101 1 8
North Dakota II (Podoll) 010 110 010 0 4

Massachusetts (Bialek) 000 001 010 x 2
Washington (Larway)* 020 110 202 x 8

Bronze medal game results:
Wisconsin (Karst) 500 000 110 0 7
North Dakota I (Bohlman)* 011 211 001 2 9

Illinois (Wright)* 301 010 102 1 9
Minnesota (Stolt) 020 102 030 0 8

Final round robin standings including tiebreak games:
Minnesota (Stolt) 7-2
Washington (Larway) 7-2
Illinois (Wright) 7-2
Massachusetts (Bialek) 6-3
Michigan (Roberts) 5-4
Wisconsin (Day) 5-4
North Dakota (Pengilly) 3-6
Oregon (Smoltz) 3-6
Alaska (Flippo) 2-7
Colorado (Moir) 0-9

Minnesota I (O'Leary) 9-0
North Dakota I (Bohlman) 6-3
North Dakota II (Podoll) 6-3
Wisconsin (Karst) 6-4
Washington (Konno) 6-5
Minnesota II (Kraus) 5-5
Maryland (Drummie) 3-6
Ohio (Paine) 3-6
California (Walsh) 2-7
Arizona (Heuerman) 1-8


And thanks, Tom, for posting this.

Comment by Doug Potter on

Follow GCC on Facebook!